Fashions Fade, Style Is Eternal

Greige Is The New Nude

In Uncategorized on July 19, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Greige – a curious colour hybrid of grey and beige.  It first appeared when Chanel put it on the shelves a few months ago in the shade Particuliere, and pretty much as it did, it dissapeared and it promted waiting lists that went on forever.  Trust me, it was nowhere to be found.  After searching the city high and low, I made a feeble attempt at every airport I stopped at on a trip back to South Africa getting so desperate, that when I eventually did find the last sample bottle on the planet in Milan’s airport duty free and failing miserably at begging to buy what was left in the bottle, with my husband acting as a human shield, I painted all ten fingers in this magnificent colour.  Yes, I should probably be embarrassed but hey desperate times call for desperate measures and at least I can say I’ve had me some of that!

Chanel Le Vernis Nail Polish in Particuliere – £16  http://www.chanel.co.uk

Greige is the perfect alternative to the sheer neutrals we’ve seen in the previous seasons and it is a perfect antidote to the poppy pinks and pastel shades that some might find too girly.  If you can’t get hold of the real thing, there are plenty spin-offs from Nails Inc’s Jermyn Street (£10.50 http://www.nailsinc.com) to OPI’s Over the Taupe (£9.95 http://www.lenawhite.co.uk).

Leave a Reply

