Fashions Fade, Style Is Eternal

Does my bum…bag look big in this?

In Uncategorized on May 1, 2010 at 5:24 pm

I almost fell off my chair at the sight of bum bags stomping their way back into fashion, with many big labels strutting them out on the catwalk.   The last time I used one of these was on my six-week trip through Thailand where I did everything possible to disguise it under my clothes in fear of being ridiculed or even worse, deported!  My earliest memory is of my father wearing a fanny pack (yes I said it) over his clothes with no shame and me walking ten steps behind, pretending I didn’t know him (sorry Dad but it’s true).

However, as unflattering as those memories are and the fact that I don’t see me wearing one…EVER, these models have managed to make them look chic and trendy.  If I had to choose a favourite, it would definitely be the round pouch below by Alice Roi.

What do you think – trend or tragedy?

From left: Baby Phat, Phillip Lim, Alice Roi

Louis Vuitton

Ashish Gupta

If you have your heart set on getting one of these this season, here are a few high street options to satisfy the tourist in you.

Eyelet Bum Bag – White / Topshop / £25.00

Floral Bum Bag / French Connection / £35

Multi Zip Bum Bag – Black / Topshop / £25.00

  1. Bumbags are Awesome! … I will mos def be purchasing one…

    shame I didn’t keep my Simpsons one I had as a child and attempt to rock the 80’s look..

Leave a Reply

